Three school board members of the School District of the Menomonie Area (SDMA) will be up for election in April 2018.

The seats are currently held by Urs Haltinner, Penny Burstad and Jim Swanson, all of whom will be running for re-election.

Both Haltinner and Swanson will be wrapping up their first term (three years), while Burstad had filled the two remaining years in the term left open with the resignation of former board president Colleen Davis.

The three incumbents will face competition for their positions in the upcoming election, as Shayna Lund and Patricia Thompson have thrown their names into the mix.

Elk Mound, Colfax and Boyceville incumbents

As of Dec. 20, all three remaining Dunn County school board seats up for election have no new candidates. In the Elk Mound Area School District, nine-term incumbent Gary Bodenburg and one-term incumbent Mark Oas are currently running unopposed.

In the Colfax School District, Kyle Knutson and Ken Neuburg’s seats are up for a new term. Both will be running for re-election and are also running unopposed. Knutson will be finishing up his first term, while Neuburg will wrap up his third.

In The Boyceville Community School District, Peter Score and Erik Evenson are also both currently running unopposed for their positions. Score will run for a second term, while Evenson will aim for a third.

The deadline to hand in nomination papers is 5 p.m. on Jan. 2, 2018.


Dunn County News reporter

Laura covers local/prep sports as well as school-related and general news in Dunn County. She joined The Dunn County News in October 2016. She can be contacted directly at or (715) 279-6721.

Load comments