Who’s running — and who’s not

2014-01-08T10:29:00Z Who’s running — and who’s notBARBARA LYON editor@dunnconnect.com Chippewa Herald
January 08, 2014 10:29 am  • 

In Menomonie, voters will have a choice of candidates in all but one of the city’s even-numbered wards and for mayor. No one has stepped forward to challenge Ward 8 incumbent Mary Solberg.

When three candidates picked up nomination papers, a primary was expected in Ward 4. But City Clerk JoAnn Kadinger said that after a review of Daniel K. “Big D” Louis’s papers following the 5 p.m. deadline on Tuesday, he did not have enough valid signatures.

Louis’s name will not be certified to be place on the spring election ballot for Tuesday, April 1. Instead Ward 4 incumbent Lynn Dickmann finds herself opposed by Clayton G. Brice.

Facing off against two-term incumbent Randy Knaack for mayor will be Andrew Mercil, currently serving as the alderman for Ward 11.

Ward 2 incumbent Jerry Traxler will once again be challenged by former alderperson Sandy White, while Josh Risler takes on incumbent Leland Schwebs for his Ward 6 seat.

Long-time Ward 10 representative Sue Beety will not be seeking reelection. Two candidates — Ryland Erdman and Joseph A. Wright — will vie to replace Beety.

Three seats for three-year terms on the Menomonie School Board will be up for election. Frank Burdick declared that he will not be running, but fellow incumbents Tammy Schneider and Amy Riddle-Swanson will be. Joining them on the ballot will be Joseph Holland, Jeff Jaeger and Glenda Jones.

Following the Honorable Bill Stewart’s retirement in November, three attorneys declared their intention to run for Dunn County Circuit Court Judge-Branch 1.

Both Menomonie attorney Christina M. Mayer and James M. Peterson — currently serving as the Dunn County District Attorney — have been approved by the Wisconsin Government Accountability Board to be on the ballot. Roger M. Hillestad, however, was listed as pending as of 5:30 p.m. Wednesday. It appears that Hillestad has not yet submitted a statement of economic interests.

See Wednesday’s Dunn County News for a full list of the school board candidates in the Elk Mound, Colfax and Boyceville school districts.

Copyright 2015 Chippewa Herald. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Follow The Dunn County New

Search local business directory

Hint: Enter a keyword that you are looking for like tires, pizza or doctors or browse the full business directory.



If the elections were today, would you vote for Donald Trump?

View Results

Featured Businesses