Eric Peissig's selected to National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Team

2013-04-05T14:38:00Z Eric Peissig's selected to National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete TeamFor The News Chippewa Herald
April 05, 2013 2:38 pm  • 

Menomonie High School linebacker and offensive guard Eric Peissig has been selected to the National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Team (Wisconsin Chapter).

Peissig was one of the 11 student athletes that will be honored at half time of the Wisconsin Badgers Spring Game on April 20th. He was also one of the three student athletes further selected from the 11-man team to receive one of the Wisconsin Football Foundation Scholarships. Eric will be receiving a plaque and a $1,000 scholarship award. There will be a luncheon at Union South for the scholar athlete team along with their families and high school coaches. Eric is the second member of the Peissig family to be named to the Scholar athlete team as his brother, Evan, was selected in 2005.

Eric has a perfect 4.0 GPA and plans on attending the University of Wisconsin. He was a two-time All Big Rivers player and this past season was the only player in the BRC to be named first team all-conference on both offense and defense, as he was also named first team as an offensive guard. Eric was also one of the captains for the Menomonie football team became a state champion wrestler in February.

The scholar athlete team is selected on criteria of academic achievement, football accomplishments, character and community service. Each nominee is required to write an essay on their football experience and also summit a letter of recommendation from their football coach and a school administrator.

Menomonie High School has had more student athletes named to the National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Team (Wisconsin Chapter) than any other school in the state. Past winners include: Ryan Thomas, Justin Walker, Nate Cody, David Cruz, Mike Gust, Andy Miller, Evan Peissig and Alex Quilling.

2012-2013 Wisconsin Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Team

A.J. Day, Lancaster High School; Eric Kittel, Brillion High School; Tim Landgraf, Edgewood High School; Mitchell Ledwith, Neenah High School; Parker Lyga, Cochrane-Fountain High School; Luke Mroczenski, Athens High School; Kellen Murphy, Lake Mills High School; Austin Schaffer, Hilbert High School; Issac Franson, Hayward High School ***Scholarship Recipient; Brett Minick, Deforest High School ***Scholarship Recipient; Eric Peissig, Menomonie High School ***Scholarship Recipient

Copyright 2015 Chippewa Herald. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick