Halopka’s last corner pass lifts him to Mid West Modified victory at EVS

2013-07-08T00:15:00Z 2013-07-09T08:32:35Z Halopka’s last corner pass lifts him to Mid West Modified victory at EVSBy BRANDON BERG | brandon.berg@lee.net | Twitter: @brandon_berg Chippewa Herald

JIM FALLS — Shane Halopka only led one lap in Sunday evening’s Mid West Modified feature race at Eagle Valley Speedway.

But it was the best lap to lead.

Halopka worked his way up from ninth to first to win the 19-car Mid West Modified feature that featured four caution flags and a last lap pass by Halopka, getting around Josh Smith coming off the final turn to score his fifth feature victory of the season. Chippewa Falls’ Cory Crapser finished in third, Jake Smith was fourth, Travis Anderson was fifth, New Auburn’s Jake Stai was sixth and Chippewa Falls’ Michael Truscott was seventh.

The victory increased Halopka’s season point standings lead up to 57 points over Bloomer’s Nick Koehler and 78 over Anderson.

Brent Voeltz led every lap of the Hornets feature on his way to his fourth feature victory. Buddy Hanestad was second, Kasey Gross was third and Jim Falls’ Scott Westaby took fourth place.

Westaby extended his point standings lead, moving to nine points ahead of Cadott’s Jay Welk and 10 ahead of Armond Love.

George Richards won his seventh Pure Stock feature of the year in convincing fashion, moving up quickly from fifth place to the lead before pulling away for the victory. New Auburn’s Dalton Hazelton finished second and Pat Smith took third.

Richards moves to 34 points ahead of Hazelton at the top of the Pure Stock standings.

Mike Anderson grabbed the lead on the fifth lap and didn’t look back on his way to a caution-free Modified feature win, his second feature win of the season at EVS. Anderson held off Kevin Adams after the duo pulled away from the rest of the pack. Cadott’s Jesse Glenz was third, Neil Balduc was fourth and Jay Richardson came home fifth.

Anderson jumped up from fifth to first in the point standings, taking a 3-point lead over Adams and five points up on Richardson. The top six in the standings are separated by just 12 points.

Ron Hanestad took full advantage of a battling trio of cars to pull away for the win in the Street Stock feature. The win was Hanestad’s first feature victory of the year. Hanestad pulled away while the trio of Cody Kummer, Travis Hazelton and Adam Soltis battled for position following the lone caution of the feature, and eventually finished second, third and fourth, respectively.

Kummer moved into the points lead, taking a 4-point lead over Danny Richards and an 11-point lead on Soltis.

Tommy Richards survived a pair of early caution flags to hold off Eric Olson, Shane Kisling and Holcombe’s Mark Stender to grab his third Super Stock feature win of the year. Richards started third for the feature race, but quickly found his way to the front and stayed.

Kisling put a little distance on the rest of the Super Stock field in the point standings, moving seven points ahead of Olson, 13 up on Richards and 15 ahead of Stender.

Eagle Valley Speedway Results (7-7-13)

Hornets Feature Top-10: Brent Voeltz (37), Buddy Hanestad (71), Kasey Gross (9), Scott Westaby (06), Armond Love (29), Mike Peters (77), Eric Klemetson (.08), William Turneniek (93), Jay Welk (97), Jason Erickson (24).

Hornets Heat Winners: Brent Voeltz and Buddy Hanestad.

Hornets Points Standings Top-5: Scott Westaby 209, Jay Welk 200, Armond Love 199, Kasey Gross 182, Brent Voeltz 161.

Mid West Modified Feature Top-10: Shane Halopka (3jr), Josh Smith (21j), Cory Crapser (07), Jake Smith (21), Travis Anderson (37), Jake Stai (1S), Michael Truscott (22), Ross Fuhrman (90), Nathan Thums (56), Nick Koehler (13K).

Mid West Modified Heat Winners: Cory Crapser, Jake Stai and Shane Halopka.

Mid West Modified Point Standings Top-5: Shane Halopka 438, Nick Koehler 381, Travis Anderson 360, Jake Smith 323, Antonio Pintaro 319.

Modified Feature Top-10: Mike Anderson (57), Kevin Adams (40), Jesse Glenz (7X), Neil Balduc (99X), Jay Richardson (R1), Kent Baxter (95X), Curt Myers (91), Ryan Aho (71A), Bryan Nayes (QP), Steve Hallquist (27H).

Modified Heat Winners: Mike Anderson and Neil Balduc.

Modified Point Standings Top-5: Mike Anderson 256, Kevin Adams 253, Jay Richardson 251, Matt Leer 250, Curt Myers 249.

Pure Stock Feature Top-10: George Richards (5R), Dalton Hazelton (2H), Pat Smith (R44), Talon Laabs (15L), Andrew Conklin (13), Jay Barnier Jr. (90JR), Rob Grabon (16), Clay Potaczek (15P), Todd Roshell (43).

Pure Stock Heat Winner: George Richards.

Pure Stock Point Standings Top-5: George Richards 437, Dalton Hazelton 403, Andrew Conklin 340, Pat Smith 300, Todd Roshell 263.  

Street Stock Feature Top-10: Ron Hanestad (71H), Cody Kummer (12), Travis Hazelton (2H), Adam Soltis (9), Danny Richards (3R), Mike Knudtson (42K), Kolby Kiehl (9K), Jason Bearden (89X), Russell Peterson (44P), Andrew Cimfl (545).

Street Stock Heat Winners: Cody Kummer and Danny Richards.

Street Stock Point Standings Top-5: Cody Kummer 366, Danny Richards 362, Adam Soltis 355, Mike Knudtson 327, Doug Wojcik 313.

Super Stock Feature Top-10: Tommy Richards (7R), Eric Olson (1E), Shane Kisling (6), Mark Stender (27S), Jesse Redetzke (207), Darrel Hazelton (24), James Cimfl (245), Ryan Henderson (80), Matt McEathron (98), Trent Kroening (11).

Super Stock Heat Winners: Shane Kisling and Tommy Richards.

Super Stock Point Standings Top-5: Shane Kisling 420, Eric Olson 413, Tommy Richards 407, Mark Stender 405, Tony Falkner 372.

Copyright 2015 Chippewa Herald. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick