Prep Girls Hockey: Chippewa Falls/Menomonie's Frank selected honorable mention All-State by Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association
Prep Girls Hockey | Chipppewa Falls/Menomonie Sabers

Prep Girls Hockey: Chippewa Falls/Menomonie's Frank selected honorable mention All-State by Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association


Chippewa Falls/Menomonie junior Sidney Polzin has been selected second team all-state, while senior goaltender Haley Frank was an honorable mention by the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association for their play in the 2019-20 season.

Sidney Polzin


Polzin scored 26 goals and added 11 assists for 37 total points in 24 games this year for the Sabers as she finished tied for ninth in the state in goals scored during the regular season.

Frank an 8-8 record with a 2.70 goals against average and a 92.1 save percentage in 19 games for the Sabers.

Haley Frank


Polzin was also selected to the All-Big Rivers Conference first team for the season at forward, one of six players from the conference to make the first team.

Ella Ausman


Frank was chosen to the second team at goaltender and junior defenseman Ella Ausman was an honorable mention. Ausman scored eight goals and added 12 assists in 24 games this season.

St. Croix Valley senior goaltender Sydney Seeley was selected as the Big Rivers Conference Player of the Year.

Chippewa Falls/Menomonie finished the season with a 10-12-2 record, the first double-digit season in wins for the program since 2011-12 while the team also won its first conference game in five years with a 2-1 win over eventual state qualifier Hudson on Jan. 14.

All-Big Rivers ConferenceFirst Team—Goalie: Sydney Seeley, St. Croix Valley. Defense: Lilly Accola, St. Croix Valley; Annika Olson, Eau Claire Area. Forward: Sidney Polzin, Chippewa Falls/Menomonie; Amber Delong, St. Croix Valley, St. Croix Valley; Madison Schwengler, Eau Claire Area.

Second Team—Goalie: Haley Frank, Chippewa Falls/Menomonie. Defense: Kalie Gruhlke, Eau Claire Area; Jenna Bergmanis, St. Croix Valley. Forward: Lauren Carmody, Eau Claire Area; Nikki Olund, Hudson; Abbie Delong, St. Croix Valley.

Honorable Mention—Goalie: Alesha Smith, Eau Claire Area; Alayna Kunshier, Hudson. Defense: Ella Ausman, Chippewa Falls/Menomonie; Rose Giblin, Hudson; Madyson Shew, St. Croix Valley. Forward: Paige Rodriguez, Eau Claire Area; Paige Ruppert, Eau Claire Area; Leah Parker, Hudson.

Player of the Year—Sydney Seeley, St. Croix Valley.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News