BHS at Belleville

The Boyceville Science Olympiad team recently competed at Belleville, winning Division 2 and finishing in second place overall.

The Boyceville High School Science Olympiad opened its 2017-18 season on Nov. 11 in Belleville with a Division 2 tournament win and second place overall team finish out of 28 teams.

“We have never attended a tournament in November before and left Boyceville around 4:30 a.m. I was impressed with how well our students responded to the very early start to the day” said head coach Andy Hamm. “Our students have been working hard to start the year, and I hope this hard work continues as I really believe the sky is the limit for this group of kids.”

Gold medals were earned by seniors Jason Swanepoel and Emmett Kapsner in Astronomy; Swanepoel and sophomore Noelle Wheeldon in Dynamic Planet; sophomores Brady Helland and Connor Sempf in Electric Wright Stuff; senior Brennan Wheeldon and sophomore Jasmine Windsor in Forensics; junior Mark Timper and sophomore Caitlyn Pelikan in Food Science; Emmett Kapsner and senior Casey Owen in Hovercraft; sophomore Steven Rasmussen and freshman Tanner Anderson in Mousetrap Vehicle; senior Hunter Holten and sophomore Rachel Becker in Optics; Swanepoel and Jasmine Windsor in Remote Sensing; senior Rian Corr, Timper, and Emmett Kapsner in Protein Modeling; Owen and sophomore Cade Klefstad in Towers; senior Marissa Dormanen and sophomore Ana Evenson in Write It, Do It; and Timper and Pelikan in WiFi Lab.

Silver medals were earned by Helland and Sempf in both WiFi Lab and Towers; Anderson and Rasmussen in Dynamic Planet; Rian Corr and freshman Nathan Corr in both Electric Wright Stuff and Mousetrap Vehicle; eighth graders Cody Harmon and Oscar Wyss in Hovercraft; Dormanen and Timper in Microbe Mission; Owen and Klefstad in Mission Possible; Brennan Wheeldon and Owen in Optics; Evenson, Pelikan, and Noelle Wheeldon in Picture This; juniors Sarah Kapsner and Brandon Windsor and sophomore Emma Bygd in Protein Modeling; and Swnaepoel and Noelle Wheeldon in Rocks & Minerals.

Bronze medals were earned by Dormanen and Timper in Anatomy & Physiology; Nunnery and Sarah Kapsner in Disease Detectives; Noelle Wheeldon and Rian Corr in Ecology; Holten, Bygd, and Becker in Experimental Design; eighth graders Elijah Farrell and Logan Windsor in Electric Wright Stuff; seniors Sean Best and Nicole Drinkman in Mission Possible; Brennan Wheeldon and Noelle Wheeldon in Thermodynamics; and sophomores Amber Schlottman and Morgan Andrews in Towers.

Boyceville will next be in action at their 11th Annual Boyceville Invitational home tournament in December, followed by invitational tournaments at Medford and UW-River Falls in January. Boyceville Science Olympiad is coached by Hamm, Jenna Willi, and Steve Duerst.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Dunn County News editor

Barbara Lyon is the editor of The Dunn County News in Menomonie, WI.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.