Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Election sign

This sign led voters to the polls on Tuesday, April 4, 2017.

City council races

Bloomer: The city can expect a quiet election season. Incumbent Mayor Jeff Steinmetz has declared candidacy, as well as aldermen Jim Koehler of Ward 1 and Kevin Meinen of Ward 3. All three will run unopposed.

Chippewa Falls: The city also has a sleepy forecast for its city council race in April. With three seats open, incumbents Rob Kiefer of Ward 2, Chuck Hull of Ward 4 and Paul Nadreau of Ward 6 will run unopposed.

Cornell: Incumbent Mayor Judy Talbot has declared candidacy, along with incumbent aldermen Steven Turany and Terry Smith. Incumbent alderman Glen Logan will not run, and one challenger, Mark Larson, has declared candidacy. A total of three city council seats are open, with three total candidates.

Stanley: Only the mayoral race in Stanley will be contested. Incumbent Mayor Norm Christianson will face contender Carol J. Brannan Schultz. Incumbent aldermen Jesse Frey of Ward 1, James Schultze of Ward 2, Lance Johnson of Ward 3 and Jeremiah Taylor of Wards 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 will run unopposed.

Village board races

Boyd: Incumbents Joseph Mitchell and Robert Geist will run unopposed for two open seats.

Cadott: Incumbents Bart T. Chapek, Les Liptak and Merlin E. Huhn will run unopposed for three open seats.

Lake Hallie: Incumbents Michael Downey and Mark Perry will run for two open seats, and will be joined by challenger Allyson Gommer-Wisniewski, who is former tourism director for the Chippewa Falls Chamber of Commerce. Gommer-Wisniewski narrowly lost a Lake Hallie village board seat in the 2017 election.

School board races

Bloomer: Incumbent Brady Jenneman has filed for candidacy; incumbent Laurie Koehler will not run. Susan McInnis has also filed for candidacy.

Cadott: Incumbent Rodney Tegels will face challenger Mark Schley, who ran unsuccessfully in 2017. Incumbent P. Scott Kelly will not run.

Chippewa Falls: Four candidates will vie for two open school board seats. Incumbent Pat Allen faces Sharon McIlquham, Steven J. Olson and Ross Spitz. Incumbent Staish Buchner will not run.

Cornell: Incumbent Lyle Briggs and three challengers will also vie for two open seats. Incumbent Paul Wallerius will not run. Other candidates include Jennifer Peterson, Josh Schwingle and James Close.

New Auburn: Two incumbents, Patty Reed Proehl and Bill Jarvis, will not run in 2018. That leaves Tim Nelson, Kathy Sielheimer and Jennifer Robey to vie for two open seats.

Stanley-Boyd: Incumbent Chad D. Verbeten, representing Area 1 of Edson, Thorp, Worden, Wilson and Butler, will face challenger Lori Klonowski Cooley. Incumbent Richard Vircks represents Area 4, including the city of Stanley, and will race against Ryan D. Lewallen.

Town board races

Wheaton: Two incumbent town supervisors are being challenged in the April 3 spring election. Incumbents Bud Beckwith and Gary De Moe face challenges from Alice Droske and Ken Books.

Lafayette: Two town board seats are also available in the Town of Lafayette. Incumbents Jeff Peck and Sharon McIlquham are unopposed.


(1) comment

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.